National Night Out

Tonight was the official NNO [1] date for Texas. Apparently, it was August 4th for the rest of the country, but either Texas moved it to spare folks from the intense heat wave we had…or it was moved because most Texans think the state is a nation unto itself. 😛

I’ve heard of this, but never participated in it…until tonight. A few neighbors put together a little block party in front of my house and the neighboring homes. I’m lucky enough to live where the street turns…creating a nice area to hang without worrying about traffic. There was hot dogs, sausages, drinks, fruit & vegetable platters, and desert.

I knew some of the neighbors already, from casual conversations in the yard and such. However, I have to admit that I was not looking forward to hanging out in the street for 3 hours, meeting all the neighbors, and trying to keep my 2yr old son from killing himself on the neighbor’s trampoline.

It’s not that I’m anti-social (far from it), but I don’t like being forced into social interaction…just feels damn awkward to me. But I have to say, it was really nice, and I am glad I participated. Besides meeting some good people and learning who had kids the same age as my son, it was nice to feel a real sense of community. It reminded me of when I grew up on Tanglewood Dr in a small neighborhood in a little town called Georgetown, Texas. Now it’s much bigger, but back then (early 80s) it was so small, that I could dial my friends house by hitting 3 and the last four digits of the number…crazy! We had block parties all the time, and parents never worried about their kids because they knew folks in the neighborhood always kept an eye out.

It’s refreshing that in this day of 1000+ TV channels, Xbox, PS3, Wii, and the internet, that I may be able to give my son the same comforts of real community that I grew up with.

[1] http://www.nationaltownwatch.org/nno/index.html

About Robbie

I live in the awesome city of Austin, TX and work for Canonical, sponsors of the best damn operating system in the world...Ubuntu.

Posted on October 7, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

