Paranormal Parent Powers

True Story. So Bryce had his 6mo check up Wednesday and we told his doctor about Bryce’s habit of waking up in the middle of the night….multiple times….EVERY night. It wouldn’t be a big deal, if he didn’t scream and cry until one of us went into his room, and either fed him (Courtney) or patted his butt until he went back to sleep (me). She said that he was old enough to console himself, and that we just need to let him cry until he works it out. I was ALL for this approach, and of course as a mother, Courtney was not….but would try because things will get worse with Bryce (sleepwise), if he can’t fall back asleep on his own. Not too mention, Courtney desperately needs a full night’s rest more than she realizes.



So, last night we went for it. We didn’t do it Wednesday night, because he had some shots and a fever as a result…and that would be cruel. Anyway, like clockwork, he wakes up around 3am, but this time neither one of us respond. This (as I knew would happen) was VERY hard for Courtney, and to be honest, wasn’t that easy for me either. Even with his door shut, in his bedroom upstairs (we are down), and the baby monitor muted….we could still hear poor Bryce crying…it was rough. To keep my wife sane, I took the monitor (it has video too) and turned on the fan in our bathroom to drown out the screams. After about an hour of off and on screaming and crying…Bryce fell back asleep.



This morning went as most do, with Kalen waking me up for breakfast and his “show”, Sesame Street (who by the way, slept through all the chaos…and his room is across from Bryce). Courtney later awoke and went to get Bryce, who though was a bit groggy, was fine. This is where things get weird. The phone rings and it’s my mother, who also lives in Austin, and NEVER calls me in the morning. The conversation went like this:

Me: Hello?

Mom: Robbie?

Me: Yeeeeees?

Mom: I didn’t wake you up, did I?

Me: No…we’re all up

Mom: Oh…ok…even Bryce?

Me: Yep…what’s going on?

Mom: Well…this is going to seem weird, but I had the strangest dream

last night. I dreamt Bryce was crying and screaming, and Courtney was

crying, but for some reason I knew things were fine. Is everything ok?

I proceeded to tell her what happened, and then we both laughed, talked for a little bit more, and hung up.



Obviously this was beyond weird for Courtney, when I told her, who jokingly said Bryce was so desperate he called out psychically to his Mimi…heh. This isn’t the first time my mother has felt something wrong with her kids, so I wasn’t shocked….but I gotta say, it was pretty weird how accurate she was. And to be clear, my mother isn’t some crazed old lady, reading tarot cards…she has a job and is “normal” by most definitions.


Things like this make you really question all that you THINK you know….which I always say is a good thing. 😉

About Robbie

I live in the awesome city of Austin, TX and work for Canonical, sponsors of the best damn operating system in the world...Ubuntu.

Posted on June 18, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

